Many Rivers to Cross

For the past few days (well actually 2 days – yesterday & today) I have watched all 6 episodes of the history of African Americans program called African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross narrated & starring Henry Louis Gates, Jr.   Some things  I already  knew & others I did not.  I was able to get a condensed itemized version of past events and have them mirror today’s current events.  Of course, one of the last things he mentioned was the Trayvon Martin story.  All I can say is WOW! and DAMN!  I watched an episode before I went to bed last night & I was traumatized.  It was difficult to go to sleep because every time I closed my eyes I envisioned scenes of the show & it almost felt real.  It almost felt like it was happening to me.  I am in total disgust with the actions of the past, current, and what will happen in the future.

I absolutely recommend it.  It is great for history and for teaching children their past ancestry.  No matter what color you are you still have roots deep from within these facts.  Even if it doesn’t directly affect you, it is still a great piece of history.  I might be a little biased (just a little bit – lol) because it does affect me directly.

Leave a Reply

