Happy Birthday, Dr. King!

Today is not just a celebration of the birth of this man, but the birth of a legacy (for me). This country was built on the backs of injustice and hatred. It thrived & flourished off of fear and ignorance developed through loss and lashes. It was not just one race that was enslaved but others as well. We forget about the journey our ancestors took to get us to this place in life.  When I think of him I think of what we was trying to do for everyone and not a selected few.  That is why I am glad that the movie, Selma, was released. This is a reminder of the struggles it took just to get the smallest essentials MAN should have in this world. Peace. Equality. Respect. Love. We crave those words in life and to have someone come in and tell you that you do not deserve them plants a distinctive blow to your spirit.

Dr. King only wanted a man’s God given right to be acknowledged and enforced. There is no master race only a master manipulator. Dr. King’s vision was to be heard and live in a manner in which a man is supposed to.  After toiling the fields for hundreds of years, you still have the audacity to stand there and tell me that I am not good enough. To him you kindly say “Well Sir, against popular belief I am a man. I am of God. The only one that can truly condemn me is the Lord Almighty”.

He leaves behind a legacy that I still dream will come to fruition. It has progressed, but we still have some work to do.

Happy Birthday Dr. King! – A great man whom we lost too soon.

Leave a Reply

