African art enthusiast

Of the Blues At the Savoy by Romare Bearden

Of the Blues: At the Savoy by Romare Bearden

A little more than a month ago, I stated that I wanted to become some form of authority on African American art (like a historian).  I’ve been full speed ahead ever since I came to that conclusion.  It’s my late night session and one of the books I am reading is African American Art by Sharon F Patton.  Throughout the book, certain names are repeated more than a few times, like James Weldon Johnson, Romare Bearden, Alain Locke, and Hale A. Woodruff to name a few.  For some reason, I gravitated towards Romare Bearden.  He was an Abstract Expressionist artist that was not fully appreciated.  His works were eclectic in nature where each piece was different from the next.  He was so versatile and was not afraid to broaden his horizons and seek other ways to express himself on canvas.  That is exactly how I want to be.  I want to be able to move about on my pieces and not get labeled as one kind of genre artist.  The more I read, the more I want to expand my thinking, creativity, resources, passion, and vision.  I could surround myself with artwork and never complain.  If I ever got a job at the Art Institute that would be a dream come true.

 

“The appreciation of art in itself is a lost art.”

Leave a Reply

