Art Institute of Chicago

OK Guys!  It has been quite some time since I have blogged about “art” on here.  I like to keep everything “swirling” around the art world.  So, to keep within the theme I would like I briefly talk about the Art Institute of Chicago.  I absolutely love going here but my schedule does not really allow it much.  Plus, every time I am able to go it is $20.  It’s expensive just to walk into the door especially when it is NOT in your budget.

Any who, I am an art enthusiast.  I love being in the presence of art.  It calms me and puts me a place of peace.  I may not know EVERYTHING about Art but I love to learn about it.  The Art Institute has many collections from African Art to Textiles.  I am partial to African Art and that might be because I am trying to be some form of African Art Historian.  I want to learn all aspect of African Art, from its origin to how it has impacted Art then and now to what were some contributors.

One of my favorite collections is the Prints and Drawings.  Since my artistic expression is normally depicted in this format I like going here for a chance to “feel” and possibly create.  It helps rejuvenate or spark my personal creativity.  One of my favorite pieces is the piece called “Harvest Talk” by Charles White.  White was a Chicago native that captured a scene that you could image had actually happened.   See the image of the drawing below (done in Charcoal)…

Harvest Talk

It spoke volumes to me.  I could imagine they were taking a quick break to discuss family life, how much more they needed to go before the day was done, how it feels to still feel oppressed, how they cannot wait to get home and eat, etc…  I began to see this picture as not just a picture but a storytelling.

If you cannot make it to the Art Institute, then  go to their website: Art Institute of Chicago

On their website, you can see collections & their current and upcoming exhibitions.  I hope you like it as much as I do.  *smile*

 

See ya!

Windycitychic(k)

 

 

Leave a Reply

